New Phone – Samsung Galaxy Prevail


I recently bought a Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost Mobile. Don’t let the name fool you, as this is a budget phone. I couldn’t afford a better phone. Plus, when it comes to contracts, I have commitment issues.

On Boost Mobile’s site, it is advertised as having Android 2.2 Froyo. (Correct me if I’m wrong.) But when I first got my hands on it, Android 2.3 Gingerbread was already installed.

The phone itself is roughly the same size as my 2nd generation iPod Touch. Well, slightly bigger, but the screen size is smaller than the iPod Touch. They both have the same resolution, of 320 x 480.

The Samsung Galaxy Prevail has a 2 MP camera, with no flash.

Picture quality is pretty bad. Under low lighting conditions, dark areas appear very grainy, and if you don’t have a steady hand, pictures WILL come out blurry. Here’s is a photo of my Kodak EasyShare Camera taken from my Samsung Galaxy Prevail:

This phone doesn’t have too much RAM for multitasking. The phone reports as having 284 MB of RAM. This phone has 180 MB of internal memory, but luckily it came with a 2 GB MicroSD card, (expandable to 64 GB.)

Of course, I can go to the Android Market. Er… I mean the Google Play Store.

So bottom line: If you are looking for a phone that will give you performance and good battery life, then do not get this phone! Performance is terrible, battery life is a joke, and if you happen to have larger fingers (like me), you will find typing a chore! I wanted an iPhone, but I’m too broke for one. No wonder Android is the poor man’s phone! But hey, at least I’ve got a phone.

Comment Box!

