000B0210

Upgrading my computer’s RAM


I recently ordered a 2GB stick of RAM for my Toshiba Satellite A215-S4697, which uses a DDR2 PC5300 SODIMM RAM. My laptop only has only 1 GB of RAM, and these days, there’s only so much you can do with a measly 1 GB. The main reason why I’m putting in more RAM is because well, games for one reason. Another reason is multitasking isn’t a bad idea, and since I’m starting to use Adobe Flash CS4 it eats away at your RAM, and would tap into my virtual memory and would occasionally crash Adobe Flash CS4, so that’s really my main reason. I would have Safari, iTunes and Flash CS 4 open at the same time, and it uses a good portion of my RAM. Since my laptop has two RAM slots, and each contains 512 MB RAM modules, I can take one of them out and replace it with my 2GB stick, giving me about 2.5 GB of total RAM. Not bad, considering… If your a nerd (like me) and wanna know my computer’s specs, then here it is!

Computer Specs

  • AMD Turion64 x2 (dual core) x86-64 with MMX,  and 3DNow clocked at 1.6 GHz
  • ATI Radeon x1200 with 128 MB of shared memory. (x1200 is based off a X700 but with less pixel and vertex pipelines, or in other words SLOWER than the x700.)
  • 1 GB of DDR2 PC5300 SODIMM RAM
  • Operating Systems: (I have a dual boot configuration.)
    • Windows Vista Home Premium (Originally installed but got rid of it.)
    • Windows XP Home Edition (My main OS.)
    • Windows 7 Home Premium (I seldom use it. Currently installed)
  • Wireless card: Atheros AR5007EG (I was able to get the wireless card to work in Windows XP by using some lenovo drivers.)
  • 120 GB Serial ATA Hard Drive

Here’s some pictures of my laptop that I took myself.

iTunes on my laptop. Listening to The Beatles! Yeah!

Playing Medal of Honor: Breakthrough on my laptop. Years that I haven’t played it.

One thought on “Upgrading my computer’s RAM

  1. Buy Computer Memory

    I think if that idea of yours did not provide what you are expecting, try to use software that are most compatible for what your computer have. It is better to work to old software than using the new ones in its slowest form.

Comment Box!

