HTC Evo Design 4G for Boost Mobile


I used to have a crappy Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost Mobile. Worst phone that I’ve ever used. Battery sucks, camera sucks, the phone is ugly as hell, and it can barely run Android Gingerbread. I decided it’s time for a new phone. I was originally going to get the LG Marquee, but then something even better came to Boost Mobile. The HTC Evo Design 4G with… wait for it…. Android Ice Cream Sandwich!

Sorry about the poor quality photos. This phone is 4G compatible. It uses Sprint’s WiMAX network. But here in Raleigh 4G is really lacking. My phone defaults to 3G.

My lockscreen. Like it?

Anyways, it uses the HTC Sense 3.6 interface. It sorta has that ICS feel to it.

My favorite part about the Notifications Center is that you can swipe to remove any notification.

Even though it uses the HTC Sense UI, the stock ICS experience is still alive. On the bottom is the the recent apps list.

As you can see here, my phone is running Android 4.0.3.

The main reason I bought this phone is because of… well… Google Chrome!

Google Chrome is really an amazing web browser. I’m so glad they finally made it for mobile! If you want Google Chrome, you need ICS. Gingerbread and earlier versions are out of luck. There’s also a version for iOS devices. Everything is synced like your bookmarks, omnibox, and tabs. The interface looks really cool.

The Evo Design 4G has a  5 Megapixel camera. The photo quality is pretty good. I even provided some samples. I took these myself :)

It’s a pretty sweet phone. I really like it. The battery life should be better though. Under heavy usage, I would get at least a day. Light usage? I was able to get 2-3 days oddly enough. I would recommend carrying a charger with you.  But other than that, it’s pretty awesome! I mean, a no-contract carrier that carries an Android phone with ICS? No one can say no to that! How much is this phone exactly? The retail price is $299.99. But with activation and the $55 a month plan, the total was around $370.00-ish.

3 thoughts on “HTC Evo Design 4G for Boost Mobile

  1. I have been studying no-contract Android phones and Boost Mobile seems to have the best phones at reasonable prices. However, I live in the sticks and I would get no reception. Boo. So I will keep looking and saving for one.

Comment Box!

